BeezSports International

Logged In: None

Login | Sign Up

Date: 25 April 2019

  General - Soccer

News Headlines

CAF's 2013 AFCON seeds & qualification criteria

[Posted 13 Apr 2012]
[By Brighton Mupangavanhu]
CAF"s 2013 AFCON seeds & qualification criteria
The Confederation of African Football has revealed that they will use a seeding system for the last lap of the qualifiers of the 2013 African Cup of Nations qualifiers.

Following the second leg of the first round of qualifiers in which teams who did not qualify for the 2012 AFCON finals took part on 29 February, CAF will be left with 30 teams to contest the final qualifier.

The 30 teams will comprise of the 16 who took part in the finals hosted by Equatorial Guinea and Gabon in January, plus the 14 teams who will emerge from the round of qualifiers from where the 16 received byes.

The seeding system to be adopted by CAF will be based on performances of the national teams in the last three AFCON finals, that is, in 2008, 2010 and 2012.

The top 15 teams with the highest points based on the criteria used by CAF will be seeded first.

Interestingly, African Champions Zambia top the charts of the seeds with 26 points, followed by Ghana, while AFCON 2012 losing finalists are third. Egypt, Mali, Tunisia, Cameroon, Angola, Nigeria, Gabon, Sudan, Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea and Burkina Faso make up the rest of the 15 top seeds.

During the final round of qualifiers, the 15 teams that emerge as winners after two legs of qualifiers by elimination will join hosts South Africa for the 2013 finals.


AFCON 2013
Live Coverage
::To be Advised (as Games come)

Useful Links
:: Sports Discussions
:: Soccer News Archives
:: Zimbabwe Warriors
:: Affiliates (Reporters)
:: Suggestion Box
:: Soccer Regulations
:: Other Soccer News
:: Sports Academies

Follow Us on Twitter


To ADVERTISE, email to "sales at beezsports dot com"

Disclaimer | Affiliates | Soccer Regulations | Suggestion Box | Sports Academies |© Copyright 2010-2011 BeezSports International