BeezSports International

Logged In: None

Login | Sign Up

Date: 22 April 2019

  World - Soccer

News Headlines

Messi and Mourinho are the World's best

[Posted 11 Jan 2011]
[By Brighton Mupangavanhu]
An unusual combination, Messi and Mourinho walked away winners at the FIFA Ballon d"Or Gala night

Last night, Argentinian Lionel Messi of Barcelona Football Club in Spain, walked away the winner of the top prize of World Football Player of the Year, known officially as the composite FIFA Ballon d'Or. Jose Mourinho of Real Madrid is FIFA World Coach of the Year for Menís Football .

On a glittering function in Zurich, Switzerland on a Monday night, Messi beat his club team mates Andres Iniesta and Xavi Hernandez to the grand award. The two came 2nd and 3rd respectively.

There are some neutrals, and many in Spain obviously, who will feel that Xavi and Iniesta probably deserved the award ahead of Messi. The two played influential roles in Spain lifting the World Cup title in the winter in South Africa last year.

There is also no doubt that Xavi and Iniesta played key roles in Barcelona retaining the La Liga title in Spain as well.

A counter argument however could be that the winner of the FIFA Ballon d'Or is not only judged on the basis of one tournament, the World Cup, but performances through out the season. Thats where probably Messi pipped the Spanish stars to the crown.

The winner of football's biggest award was selected by a few chosen journalists, and the for the first time, all captains of the 208 FIFA-affilliated national teams, and their coaches.

Meanwhile, Portugal-born coach Mourinho, as expected, bagged the Men's Coach of the Year award, following his exploits in winning the trebble with Inter Milan last season. The Real Madrid coach won the Serie A title, main Italian Cup and the UEFA Champions League.

Other winners

Spain, a nation that is hurting for what it terms an anti-Spanish agenda which saw 'deserved winners' Iniesta and Xavi losing out to Argentinian Messi, got some consolation when six of her world cup  winning team were selected by 50 000 professional players in to the FIFA/FIFPro World XI.

Iniesta and Xavi were joined by Iker Casillas, David Villa, Carles Puyol and Gerard Pique on the list of eleven best players of last season.

The six Spaniards topped a list which was completed by the Brazilian duo of Lucio and Maicon, Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo, Messi and Netherlands' Wesley Sneijder.

Desmond Tutu, a Nobel Peace Prize laureate received the FIFA Presidential award for his perceived role in helping bring the world cup to South African shores.

Turkey's Hamit Altintop won the FIFA Puskas Award for best goal of the year because of his volley scored in a match against Kazakhstan. Africa's hope for the same award Siphiwe Tshabalala of South Africa unfortunately lost out on the night.

Brazil forward Marta walked away with the FIFA Womenís World Player of the Year award ahead of other contestants Birgit Prinz and Fatmire Bajramaj both from Germany.

Interestingly Haiti's Under 17 Women's soccer team celebrated winning the FIFA Fair Play Award for fulfilling their international match despite of the tragedy which struck their country in Haiti.

Last but not least was one of the newest of awards at the night football gala was the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Womenís Football  which went to Silvia Neid of Germany.


AFCON 2013
Live Coverage
::To be Advised (as Games come)

Useful Links
:: Sports Discussions
:: Soccer News Archives
:: Zimbabwe Warriors
:: Affiliates (Reporters)
:: Suggestion Box
:: Soccer Regulations
:: Other Soccer News
:: Sports Academies

Follow Us on Twitter


To ADVERTISE, email to "sales at beezsports dot com"

Disclaimer | Affiliates | Soccer Regulations | Suggestion Box | Sports Academies |© Copyright 2010-2011 BeezSports International