BeezSports International

Logged In: None

Login | Sign Up

Date: 22 March 2019

  Eastern African - Soccer

Kenya Premier Soccer League: 2013
:: Standings
Kenya Premier Soccer League: 2012
:: Standings
Uganda (Bell Lager) Super League: 2011-2012
:: Standings
Kenya Premier Soccer League: 2011
:: Standings

News Headlines

URA crowned Uganda Champions

[Posted 25 May 2011]
[By Charles Malingha]
URA crowned Uganda  Champions

Robert Ssentongo’s fifth and sixth goals since joining from Tanzania’s African Lyon in January were enough to hand URA their fourth title in six years and Alex Isabirye’s first title as coach in his maiden season.

Going into the game, URA needed just a point to secure the title but did more than enough. KCC, with 47 points, had to score at least four without reply against URA, and net another unanswered eight in their last two games against Utoda and Police to stay in it.

"I dedicate the win to the URA administration for entrusting me with the challenge and to the players who have put in hard work," said Isabirye.

For KCC’s Matia Lule, it was magnanimous in defeat.

"We gave it our all but URA were the better side over the campaign," Lule said.

KCC pressed and passed to the script in the first half with Ivan Ntege and Kamada Ndiefi combining beautifully with Brian Majjwega. But it was Steven Bengo’s brilliance that made the difference.

The midfielder audaciously teed up Ssentongo, who clinically beat KCC keeper Godfrey Wakabu to his right on 31 minutes against the run of play.

KCC levelled when URA keeper Brian Bwete failed to deal with a high ball, dropping it and Andy Ssekayombya gladly burying home five minutes to half time.

But URA again took the lead after 61 minutes with leading league scorer with 14 goals, Hamis Kizza, finding Ssentongo, who brilliantly turned before beating Wakabu.

Meanwhile, last minute improvisations saved the USL administration blushes after some members arranged at half time to have the trophy transported to Nakivubo and presented to URA.

Initially, the USL had arranged to hand over the trophy at a dinner on a venue yet to be confirmed but pressure from journalists – and the fact that world over trophies are presented at stadiums, not dinners – they reconsidered.

However, it was disturbing that champions played their last game while other teams still have three matches left. Elsewhere, Dan Sserunkuma and Obed Mayanja each scored a brace and Yudah Mugalu added the other as Victors thumped Gulu 5-0 at Pece Stadium.

USL Champions since 1968
1969: Prisons
1970: Coffee
1971: Simba
1974: Express
1975: Express
1976: KCC
1977: KCC
1978: Simba
1979: UCB
1980: Nile
1981: KCC
1982 : SC Villa
1983: KCC
1984: SC Villa
1985: KCC
1986: SC Villa
1987: SC Villa
1988: SC Villa
1989: SC Villa
1990: SC Villa
1991: KCC
1992: SC Villa
1993: Express
199: SC Villa
1995: Express
1996: Express
1997: KCC
1998: SC Villa
1999: SC Villa
2000: SC Villa
2000: SC Villa
2001: SC Villa
2002: SC Villa
2003: SC Villa
2004: SC Villa
2005: SC Police
2006: SC URA
2007: SC URA
2008: SC KCC
2009: SC URA
Top scorers
Hamis Kizza14 goals
Herman Wasswa10 goals
Godfrey Wakaza 9 goals
Yudah Mugalu6 goals
Robert Ssentongo6 goals
Julius Okocha5 goals
Steven Bengo5 goals
Emmanuel Kalyowa5 goals


AFCON 2013
Live Coverage
::To be Advised (as Games come)

Useful Links
:: Sports Discussions
:: Soccer News Archives
:: Zimbabwe Warriors
:: Affiliates (Reporters)
:: Suggestion Box
:: Soccer Regulations
:: Other Soccer News
:: Sports Academies

Follow Us on Twitter


To ADVERTISE, email to "sales at beezsports dot com"

Disclaimer | Affiliates | Soccer Regulations | Suggestion Box | Sports Academies |© Copyright 2010-2011 BeezSports International