BeezSports International

Logged In: None

Login | Sign Up

Date: 25 April 2019

  South African - Soccer

SA (ABSA) Premier Soccer League: 2012-2013
:: Standings
SA (ABSA) Premier Soccer League: 2011-2012
:: Standings
SA (ABSA) Premier Soccer League: 2010/2011
:: Standings

News Headlines

SA's final World Cup squad , MacCarthy omitted

[Posted 01 Jun 2010]
SA"s  final World Cup squad , MacCarthy omitted

By Brighton Mupangavanhu

Bafana Bafana coach Carlos Alberto Parreira has revealed that he could not celebrate the Bafana goals in the match against Guatemala (which covered live because he had tough decisions to make. Indeed he has made difficult decisions when announcing the final 23 World cup squad for the 2010 finals host nation. West Ham United's Benni McCarthy has been the main casualty of a difficult selection decision by the Bafana coach.

Other players dropped from the enlarged squad of 28 players who had remained in camp include Germany-based Rowen Fernandez, Greece-based right back Bryce Moon, Sundowns defender Innocent Mdledle and midfielder Franklin Cale. Fernandez, Moon and McCarthy have been culled from the squad due to lack of match fitness, having all returned from injuries recently. It was an open secret that Mdledle could not dislodge his former team mate at Pirates Lucas Thwala. Thwala's advantage over Mdledle has been that he has been preferred in friendly matches involving localy-based Bafana players and is also a versatile defender who is equally at home playing as a central defender, just like what he has been doing at Pirates for the past couple of seasons. Cale is not an ideal midfielder in a system preferred by Parreira.

The Brazilian coach Parreira made a really tough call on McCarthy given the hype created by the SA media for the inclusion of the experienced striker.

"It was a very difficult decision to make the final squad.We used the principles of physical condition, technical condition, how useful a player would be if someone is suspended or injured and their discipline", Parreira commented about his own selection criteria.

McCarthy accepted the coach's decision as a professional and explained that he understood that the decision was a tough one. He has pledged his full support for his selected colleagues.

"No-one's place in the final squad is a given. We all gave it our best and pushed ourselves to our limits to make the cut...My role now is to join (of the chosen 23 squad)", commented the veteran striker.

Final Squad

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Moeneeb Josephs (Orlando Pirates), Shu-Aib Walters (Maritzburg United)

Defenders: Matthew Booth, Siboniso Gaxa (both Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongani Khumalo (SuperSport United), Tsepo Masilela (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Aaron Mokoena (Portsmouth, England), Anele Ngcongca (Racing Genk, Belgium), Siyabonga Sangweni (Golden Arrows), Lucas Thwala (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Surprise Moriri (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lance Davids (Ajax Cape Town), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Fulham, England), Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates), Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siphiwe Tshabalala (both Kaizer Chiefs), Thanduyise Khuboni (Golden Arrows), Steven Pienaar (Everton, England), Macbeth Sibaya (Rubin Kazan, Russia)

Strikers: Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyabonga Nomvete (Moroka Swallows), Bernard Parker (FC Twente, Netherlands)


AFCON 2013
Live Coverage
::To be Advised (as Games come)

Useful Links
:: Sports Discussions
:: Soccer News Archives
:: Zimbabwe Warriors
:: Affiliates (Reporters)
:: Suggestion Box
:: Soccer Regulations
:: Other Soccer News
:: Sports Academies

Follow Us on Twitter


To ADVERTISE, email to "sales at beezsports dot com"

Disclaimer | Affiliates | Soccer Regulations | Suggestion Box | Sports Academies |© Copyright 2010-2011 BeezSports International