BeezSports International

Logged In: None

Login | Sign Up

Date: 26 March 2019

  South African - Soccer

SA (ABSA) Premier Soccer League: 2012-2013
:: Standings
SA (ABSA) Premier Soccer League: 2011-2012
:: Standings
SA (ABSA) Premier Soccer League: 2010/2011
:: Standings

News Headlines

Pirates name CAF Champions League squad

[Posted 07 Feb 2012]
[By Brighton Mupangavanhu]
McCarthy and Chansa, two of quality players in the Bucs African safari squad

South African league champions and sole representatives in the CAF Champions League for 2012, Orlando Pirates have announced a quality squad of 23 players for the competition.

The Buccaneers, winners of the 2010/2011 ABSA Premier Soccer League title, have demonstrated serious intentions of making an assault on the competition they last won in 1995 when it was called Africa Cup of Club Champions.

Back in that year, Bucs had the likes of top striker Jerry Skhosana in their ranks.

By winning the Champions League that year, Pirates became the only COSAFA club from the the Southern part of Africa to win Africa's premier club title, and remains the only one.

Only Dynamos of Zimbabwe came closer ever since, reaching the final in 1998 where they lost 4-2 on aggregate under controversial circumstances, before reaching the semi-finals in 2008

Pirates can boast of quality internationals in their ranks; the likes of Zambia international Isaac Chansa whose country has reached the semi-finals of on-going AFCON 2012 finals, Boubacar Talatou a Niger midfielder who was also at the AFCON this year with his country, as well as Rudolf Bester of Namibia's Brave Warriors.

Apart from the internationals, Pirates have also in their ranks the following Bafana Bafana key players; defender Siyabonga Sangweni, goalkeeper Moneeb Josephs, midfielders Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa and Tlou Segolela.

The icing on the cake for Bucs is the presence of UEFA Champions League winner with FC Porto Benni McCarthy, himself a former Bafana key striker, holder of the record for most goals for the national soccer team with 31 goals.

Excluded from the potent Bucs squad for the Champions League are the new signings Sifiso Myeni, Thandani Ntshumayelo, Njabulo Manqana and former portugal international Louis Boa Morte.

Pirates are due to play in a preliminary round against Angolan outfit CRD Libolo on 19 February. They warmed up for this encounter with friendly matches against Hwange FC of Zimbabwe and Angolan opponents Inter Luanda of Angola in Johannesburg on Saturday. 

Pirates' Champions League squad

Goalkeepers: Moeneeb Josephs, Senzo Meyiwa, Gertulio Vargas

Defenders: Lucky Lekgwathi, Siyabonga Sangweni, Rueben Cloete, Sibusiso Mxoyana, Rooi Mahamutsa, Bheki Nzunga

Midfielders: Tlou Segolela, Dikgang Mabalane, Daine Klate, Andile Jali, Isaac Chansa, Oupa Manyisa, Rudolf Bester, Benson Mhlongo, Boubacar Talatou

Forwards: Thulasizwe Mbuyane, Ndumiso Mabena, Bongani Ndulula, Benni McCarthy, Tokelo Rantie.



AFCON 2013
Live Coverage
::To be Advised (as Games come)

Useful Links
:: Sports Discussions
:: Soccer News Archives
:: Zimbabwe Warriors
:: Affiliates (Reporters)
:: Suggestion Box
:: Soccer Regulations
:: Other Soccer News
:: Sports Academies

Follow Us on Twitter


To ADVERTISE, email to "sales at beezsports dot com"

Disclaimer | Affiliates | Soccer Regulations | Suggestion Box | Sports Academies |© Copyright 2010-2011 BeezSports International