BeezSports International

Logged In: None

Login | Sign Up

Date: 24 March 2019

  Zimbabwean - Soccer

Zimbabwe (Castle Lager) Premier Soccer League: 2013
:: Standings
Zimbabwe (Castle Lager) Premier Soccer League: 2012
:: Standings
Zimbabwe (Castle Lager) Premier Soccer League: 2011
:: Standings
Zimbabwe Premier Soccer League : 2010
:: Standings
Zimbabwe Bankers League: 2010
:: Standings

News Headlines

Sundowns hit Powerlines for 24 in Nedbank

[Posted 05 Mar 2012]
[By Brighton Mupangavanhu]
Mushekwi scored 6 goals in Downs" record 24-0 victory over Powerlines. Mwanjali captained the team

South Africa's flomboyant club and current ABSA Premier Soccer League log leaders Mamemlodi Sundowns scored a record 24 goals without reply against minnows Powerlines of Northern Cape in a Nedbank last 32 match in Kimberly on Sunday.

The Patrice Motsepe owned side, underlined their pedigree to win a PSL title and major Cup double by displaying ruthlessness in front of goals against the amateru side from Northern Cape, whon find it hard to cope with the skills of the young Downs players.

The scoreline forced sports staticians to go to the records books to find out if this was the biggest socre in the history of South African football.

It was indeed discovered that Sundowns set a new record in South African football on 4 March 2012 by becoming the first team to score above 20 goals, thanks to three players, Hlompo Kekana (7 goals), Nyasha Mushekwi (6) and Kimberly homeboy Richard Henyekanye who among them scored an amazing total of 17 goals.

Kekana's 7 goals though are two goals shy of the record individual scoring record set by Hendrick Hardley who scored 9 goals in  Lamontville Golden Arrows's 14-0 drubbing of  Richmond Junior Aces in a Benson&Hedges Cup first round  match on 31 July 1977.

It is almost certain that players like Nyasha Mushekwi and Kekana are sure to win the top goal scorer award for the Nedbank Cup competition at the end of the season.

Here are the records in South African football, courtesy of authoritative football magazine in South African and indeed on the continent of Africa 

The match also saw the return of Sundowns's veteran midfielder and former captain Esrom Nyandoro into the starting line-up after a very long time this season. The veteran had little to do as Powerlines never provided a real challenge for the PSL big boys.

4 March, 2012: Mamelodi Sundowns 24 Powerlines FC 0 (Nedbank Cup first round)
8 August, 1976: Bizana Lucky Stars 0 AmaZulu 16 (Benson&Hedges Cup, first round)
31 August, 1986: AmaZulu 16 Ford Pirates 0 (Mainstay Cup, first round)
16 September, 1986: Wits University 14 Cardiff City 0 (Mainstay Cup, second round)
date unknown, 1961: Durban City 17 Johannesburg City 3
date unknown, 1963: Durban City 14 Kimberley United 1 (Castle Cup, second round)
1 September, 1978: Lusitano 13 Mangaung United 0

Hendrick Hardley (9) Lamontville Golden Arrows 14 Richmond Junior Aces 0 (Benson&Hedges Cup first round) - July 31, 1977
Andries Maseko (8) for Moroka Swallows Limited 13 Umlazi Citizens United 0 (league) - October 17, 1976
Hlompho Kekana (7) for Mamelodi Sundowns 24 Powerlines FC 0 (Nedbank Cup first round) March 4, 2012
Richard Lata (6) for Benoni 6 Umlazi Citizens United 1 (league) - March 21, 1976
Alfred Mkhonza (6) for Witbank Black Aces 11 Kimberley Dalton Brothers 0 (league) - April 29, 1973
Kaizer Motaung (6) for Kaizer Chiefs 12 Bluff Rangers 1 (Champion of Champions first round) - March 25, 1975
Nyasha Mushekwi (6) for Mamelodi Sundowns 24 Powerlines FC 0 (Nedbank Cup first round) March 4, 2012
Jomo Sono (6) for Orlando Pirates 6 Northampton Wanderers 1 (Benson&Hedges Cup first round) - August 8, 1976 


AFCON 2013
Live Coverage
::To be Advised (as Games come)

Useful Links
:: Sports Discussions
:: Soccer News Archives
:: Zimbabwe Warriors
:: Affiliates (Reporters)
:: Suggestion Box
:: Soccer Regulations
:: Other Soccer News
:: Sports Academies

Follow Us on Twitter


To ADVERTISE, email to "sales at beezsports dot com"

Disclaimer | Affiliates | Soccer Regulations | Suggestion Box | Sports Academies |© Copyright 2010-2011 BeezSports International